Congratulations to the 2018 HWCOM Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Honor Medical Society inductees.

This year, twenty-seven students were inducted into the prestigious national honor society along with optometrist, inventor, philanthropist, and the college’s namesake,  Dr. Herbert Wertheim, also known as the man in the red hat.


AOA recognizes scholarship as well other values including honesty, ethics, dedication to serving others, and leadership. It is to medicine what Phi Beta Kappa is to letters and the humanities, and what Sigma Xi is to science. Nearly seventy-five percent of deans of U.S. medical schools are members of AOA.

Here is the list of the 2017-2018 inductees:


Herbert Wertheim, O.D., D.Sc., M.D. (hc)

Class of 2018

Joseph Barbera

Joanna Barreiro

Michelle Chamoun

Michael Dias

Meaghan Frederick

Annie Ho

Jeremy King

Christopher Kinter

Roy Lipworth

Daniel Lumpuy

Jared Maas

Ashley Mendez

Alberto Monreal

Christiaan Myburgh

Bruno Panzarini

Brittany-Lee Roberts

Adeeb Rohani

Corey Weinstein

Kyla Wilkinson

Class of 2019

Michele Benjamin

Jacob Bruno-Friedman

Leah Cohen

Reese Courington

Kelley Dages

Michael Desrosiers

Blake Fortes

Valerie Polcz