Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine honored some of its best and brightest at this year’s Medical Faculty and Student Awards Ceremony. The event was held April 27 at the FIU Graham Center Ballrooms.


Here are the list of honorees.

Faculty Awards

Clinical Affiliate Preceptor Award: Dr. Peter Khamvongsa

Excellence in Teaching Awards

Course/Clerkship Direction: Dr. Sarah Stumbar
Large Group Interactive: Dr. Tracey Weiler
Lecture: Dr. Dietrich Lorke
E-Learning: Ferdinand Gomez
Small Group: Dr. Jenny Fortun
Faculty Advisor or Mentor of the Year Student Choice Award: Dr. David Graham
Leonard Tow Humanism in Award (Faculty) : Dr. Sarah Stumbar

                                Student Awards

Outstanding Academic Performance: Jared Maas

AMWA Glasgow-Rubin Citation for Academic Achievement: Meaghan Frederick, Ashley Mendez, Kyla Wilkinson

ACOG District XII-2018 Medical Student Awards: Brittany-Lee Roberts, Kyla Wilkinson

Outstanding Clerkship Performance
Emergency Medicine: Bianca Alvarez
Family Medicine: Natalia Pineda
Geriatrics: Sarah Altajar
Internal Medicine: Victoria Garland
Neurology: Christiaan Myburgh
Obstetrics and Gynecology: Adeeb Rohani
Pediatrics: Kyla Wilkinson
Psychiatry: Rebekka Geldbart
Radiology: Jeremy King
Surgery: Katelynn Hyman

Outstanding NeighborhoodHELP: Zoe Feld

Outstanding Research: Roy Lipworth

Outstanding Community Service: Stevenson Chery, Lena Carleton

Outstanding Leadership: Ashton Sequeira, Jenna Bilodeau

Dan Castellanos Ph.D., Professionalism Awards: Bianca Alvarez, Greisy Harvell

Robert Kemper Award for Professionalism in Medicine: Kyla Wilkinson

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award (Student): Zoe Feld

Peggy O’Leary Seigler Scholarship: Michael Dias

Alumni Award

Outstanding Alumni: Jerry Cherisien, MD ‘15