The Rotary Club of Miami awarded a record $69,000 in scholarships to Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine (HWCOM) students this year.

Twenty-seven students were chosen to receive the Rotary Club’s Thomas Brown McClelland (TBM) Trust Scholarship for the 2018-19 academic year. They were honored at a special pinning ceremony on February 22 headlined by club treasurer and past president, Philip Seipp.
Dr. Rebecca Toonkel, HWCOM assistant dean for academic advising, also received a pin as a past McClelland Scholar.

The scholarship is named after the late Thomas B. McClelland, a professional horticulturist and a dedicated member of the Rotary Club of Miami, who left money in his will for an endowment fund establishing a scholarship for medical students who graduated from Miami-Dade County high schools.
Since 2009, Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine students have received more than $260,000 in TBM scholarships.

2019 TBM Scholars

Class of 2019
Deannys Batista
Ricardo Collazo
Chelsea Cosner
Kelley Dages
Melissa Diaz
Blake Fortes
Natasha Llanes
Lazaro Mesa
Sophia Meziani
Grethel Miro
Jennifer Navarro
Stephanie San Martin
Omar Viqar
Class of 2020
Reinier Alvarez
Michael Delgado
Daphney Dorcius
Greisy Harvell
Robert Hassan
Nicole Millan
Cathy Ng
Nicolas Reyes
Lee Seifer
Class of 2021
Frances De La Camara
Eli Levitt
Stephanie Mangels
Class of 2022
Matison Alderman
Monique Motta