Congratulations to all the winners of the 2019 Medical Faculty and Student Awards Ceremony. The event was held on April 26 at the Student Academic Success Center. This year’s keynote speaker was Dr. Robert Sackstein, HWCOM dean and vice president for Health Affairs.

Dean Sackstein was the keynote speaker.

Here is the list of winners:

Faculty Awards
AOA Voluntary Clinical TeachingRegina Carney, MD

Resident and Fellow Clinical- Ravin Sajnani, MD

Excellence in Teaching Awards
Course/Clerkship Direction-
Saby Moulik, PhD

Large Group Interactive- Dr. Rebecca Toonkel

Lecture- Gagani Athauda, MD

E-Learning- Helen Tempest, PhD

Small Group-Greg Schneider, MD

Faculty Advisor or Mentor of the Year Student Choice AwardFrederick Anderson, MD

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award (Faculty)- Cheryl Holder, MD

Dr. Sarah Stumbar, Francisco Irizarry (Outstanding Clerkship Performance, Surgery), and
Dr. Carolyn Runowicz.


Student Awards
Robert Kemper Award for Professionalism in MedicineAmara Fazal

ACOG District XII 2018 Medical Student Awards- Joann Gold and Natalia Shringarpure

AMWA Glasgow-Rubin Citation for Academic Achievement- Kelly Dages, Lauren Dittman, Sophia Meziani, Valerie Polcz, Tiffany Race, Jessica Segal

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award (student)Amara Fazal

Dan Castellanos, PhD Professionalism AwardsDavid Mendoza and David Dorcius

Peggy O’Leary Siegler ScholarshipCarly Rabin

American Academy of Neurology Medical Student ExcellenceNatasha Llanes

Outstanding Academic Performance for Class of 2019Blake Fortes

Outstanding Academic Performance for Class of 2020- Caitlyn Gallagher

Outstanding Academic Performance for Class of 2021- Mariana Perez

Outstanding Clerkship Performance Awards
Emergency MedicineSemir Karic
Family Medicine Amara Fazal
GeriatricsDeannys Batista
Internal MedicineBlake Fortes
Neurology- Natasha Llanes
Obstetrics & Gynecology- Reese Courington
Pediatrics Brenda Rieger
Psychiatry- Bailey Roberts
Radiology- Grethel Miro
Surgery Francisco Irizarry

Outstanding NeighborhoodHELP- Jacqueline Sroka

Outstanding Research AwardBailey Roberts, Reese Courington, Erik VerHage, Evelyn Ramirez, Julieta Morano, Tiffany Beguiristain

Outstanding Community ServiceCarol Marie Fraley and Rachel Fields

Outstanding Leadership– Cindy Li and Phoebe Hughes

Outstanding Alumni AwardAriel Moses, MD’13

Dr. Sheldon Cherry with Lauren Dittman, Leah Cohen, and Jessica Segal pose in front of their research poster.

The awards ceremony coincided with the 5th Annual Research Symposium and the release of the fourth edition of The Florida Medical Student Research Journal edited by Nicole Millan and Komal Kinger.